Lease management software for restaurants comes in two kinds: location platforms built for multi-unit operators, led by Leasecake, and lease accounting platforms such as Occupier, Visual Lease, Black Owl Systems and Crunchafi. None of them publishes a dollar price today. Leasecake prices per location, Occupier per active lease with a 20 lease minimum per tier, and Crunchafi per lease per year. Every one of them still needs each lease read and entered before it can send a single renewal alert.
This guide is for US restaurant groups and franchisees with roughly 10 to 200 locations who are choosing a system to hold their leases. Every product fact comes from the vendor's own site or a partner's. Where a vendor does not say something, we say that instead of guessing.
Lease management software for restaurants at a glance
| Platform | Built around | Published price | Pricing basis the vendor states |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leasecake | Multi-unit restaurant, retail and franchise operators | None. Ask Us About Pricing | Per location. Claims it costs less than 1% of rent |
| Occupier | Multi-location tenants and their real estate teams | None. Three named tiers, quote on request | Per active lease and per module, 20 lease minimum per tier, unlimited users |
| Visual Lease | Lease accounting for corporate and public tenants. Owned by CoStar Group since November 2024 | None. Request pricing form | Not stated |
| Black Owl Systems | Lease accounting subledger, lessee and lessor | None. Every tier is Contact Sales | Not stated |
| Crunchafi (formerly LeaseCrunch) | Lease accounting, often bought through a CPA firm | None | Per lease, per year |
| LeaseAbstracts | Reading the lease PDFs and producing the data the platforms above need | $49 to $800 a month | Leases processed per month. Yearly plans cost half |
The first two rows are the ones restaurant operators usually shortlist. The accounting rows matter when the controller, not the director of real estate, owns the purchase.
How much does lease management software cost for a restaurant group?
Nobody on the list above will tell you before a sales call, so the honest answer is a set of pricing bases rather than numbers.
Leasecake removed its published tiers. Its pricing page now shows a request form, the line "Costs less than 1% of rent" and no figures. Until mid 2026 the same page listed roughly $8, $12 and $18 per location per month across three tiers, billed annually, and those numbers still circulate on review sites. Treat them as history. What has not changed is the unit: cost follows your location count.
Occupier publishes its structure. Each tier includes a minimum of 20 leases, only active leases count, users are unlimited, and Lease Accounting is an add-on module with setup billed separately. For a 12 unit group, the 20 lease minimum means you pay for eight leases you do not have. For a 60 unit group it does not bite.
Crunchafi prices lease accounting per lease per year, and the accounting platforms in general price against a finance budget rather than an operations one. Our commercial lease management software pricing guide collects what each vendor publishes, and the lease abstraction software pricing roundup covers the data entry side.
The line most quotes leave out is setup: someone has to read every lease and amendment and key the terms in. At two to four hours per lease by hand, 40 restaurant leases is 80 to 160 hours before the system knows a single date.
What restaurant leases need tracked that office leases do not
A restaurant lease carries terms a generic lease template has no column for. If your software cannot hold them, the alerts it sends will be incomplete.
| Term | Why it costs money | Where it usually sits |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage rent and breakpoint | Sales reporting deadlines and overage rent owed above the breakpoint | Rent article, sometimes an exhibit with the sales definition |
| Exclusive use | Protects your menu category in a center, lost if not enforced | Use clause or a rider |
| Co-tenancy | Rent reduction or exit right when an anchor goes dark | Rider or amendment |
| Radius restriction | Limits where you can open your next unit | Use clause or rent article |
| Continuous operation and go-dark | Default risk if a unit closes for remodel or staffing | Operations covenant |
| Grease trap, hood and HVAC duties | Repair and replacement bills that land on the tenant | Maintenance article, work letter |
| Liquor license contingency | Termination right or rent delay if the license is denied | Contingency rider |
| Personal or good guy guaranty | Owner liability that survives a closed unit | Separate guaranty, often unsigned copies in the file |
Each of these has a page of its own if you want the detail: percentage rent, exclusive use, co-tenancy, radius restrictions and go-dark and kick-out clauses.
Is Leasecake good for restaurants?
It is the platform most aimed at them. Restaurant365, the restaurant accounting system, describes Leasecake on its partner page as a lease management platform built for the restaurant industry that stores leases, rent schedules, licenses, permits, assets, franchise agreements and landlord information, with tasks and automatic reminders for multi-location operators. That breadth is the point: a franchisee tracking a health permit renewal and a franchise agreement expiry next to the lease gets one calendar instead of three.
Two recent facts matter for a buyer. On 20 August 2026 Citrin Cooperman Advisors announced a strategic alliance with Leasecake aimed at franchise systems, multi-unit operators and private equity backed companies, naming integrations with NetSuite, R365, QuickBooks, Sage and Oracle. It is an alliance, not an acquisition, but it means an accounting firm can now implement and run the platform for you. And the price is quote only, so ask for the per-location rate, the location minimum and the contract length in writing. More detail sits on our Leasecake alternative page.
Occupier, Visual Lease and the accounting platforms
Occupier is the closest alternative. It is tenant-side lease administration with Lease Accounting as an add-on and an AI abstractor that has a person review each lease. Its 20 lease minimum per tier and per-active-lease basis make it predictable for groups past 20 units. We set it against Visual Lease in Occupier vs Visual Lease pricing.
Visual Lease, Black Owl Systems and Crunchafi are accounting-first. They make sense when the trigger is an ASC 842 audit finding rather than a missed renewal. They track dates, but none is designed around a restaurant operator's licenses and permits. If you are weighing two of them, start with Leasecake vs Visual Lease pricing or Black Owl Systems vs Leasecake.
Do restaurants need lease management software or just lease abstraction?
It depends on what breaks today. If the problem is that nobody knows when the renewal notice for unit 14 is due, you need the data first and the platform second. A spreadsheet with clean, source-linked lease data and a critical dates register covers a 10 to 20 unit group well, at a fraction of a platform contract.
Once you pass 30 or so units, have several entities, or want field managers logging into one portal, a platform earns its fee. Even then the platform is only as good as what goes into it. That is the step we sell: upload each lease with its amendments, get every date, rent step, percentage rent term and option as a field linked to its clause, and import the result into whichever platform you pick. If you want a second set of eyes before signing a new location, our commercial lease review AI flags missing notice windows and CAM gaps on each lease.
Rent is usually paid from each unit's operating account, so when the finance team ties lease obligations to what actually left the bank, it helps to convert the bank statements to Excel first and match rent and CAM payments against the abstract.
How to load 40 restaurant leases before go-live
- Collect every lease file per unit, including amendments, assignments from prior franchisees and the guaranty.
- Abstract each unit, reading the base lease with all amendments so the latest term and rent table win.
- Check the restaurant terms from the table above, field by field, against the linked clause.
- Export once to Excel or CSV in the platform's import layout, and keep the file as your own record.
- Turn on alerts only after the data is approved, so the first reminder is a real one.
Start with the units whose renewal windows open in the next year. Plans run from $49 a month on our pricing page, and the demo above takes one of your own leases.